Over Christmas and the New Year something occurred to me, I (we) watch a lot of kids films and by kids films I mean rating U and PG. This occurred to me as hubby and I settled down to watch Brave one evening. Just us. Our 4 year old was tucked up fast asleep in bed.

On Christmas day night we had watched Prisoners, it’s rare for us to watch any films rated over PG and we decided to go back to our usual ways after watching children being abducted and parents going crazy over it – as any parent would – just a bit too depressing.

So, here is a rundown of my top 10 kids (and one for the adults) films that you and your kids may or may not have seen that you should, with some that you definitely will have but I think should be watched again and again. I’ve thrown in a film rated 15 for that time when we get a little us time (if you’re lucky enough!)

1) Brave – a couple of jump in your seat moments for a two year old but a brilliant watch. Girls are tough too.

2) The Lorax – I can watch this film over and over, never mind about my 4 year old. A colourful and moral filled film with Taylor Swift and Zac Efron staring (in animated form) and a soundtrack so fantastic you’ll be singing your way through your days for a while after.

3) Tangled – my son loves this! We watch it over and over and it doesn’t get old. How Rapunzel goes about her adventure without getting her hair in major knots or ripping her hair out in clumps amazes me.

4) The Lego Movie – really one for the adults with the moral of the film really aimed at them (‘not the kraggel!’) but good for all kids, just the oder they are the more they will appreciate the full extent of this film.

5) Kingsman: The Secret Service – Out in the UK on 29th January. See review coming soon – definitely one for date night. A big enough cast and enough twists and action to keep you on the edge of your seat but enough laughs to keep it light so that you can sleep a night – if your kids will let you……

6) How to train your Dragon 1&2 – OK that’s two films but still- some jump in your seat moments and a lot of fighting but a brilliant watch, showing you that doing things differently from everyone else is not a bad thing.

7) Cars (1&2) – never tire of these films. Good ole Disney Pixar fun at it’s best.

8) Toy story 1, 2 and 3 – I know that’s 3 films but are goodies you can’t disagree!

9) Lion king – Hakuna matata, what a wonderful phrase, hakunta matata aint no passing craze!!! No more needs to be said.

10) We’re Back! A Dinosaur Story – rather scary in places with old Screw Eye but balanced with just how great this is. My 4 year old loves it and started watching it when he was 3. My brother loved it too when he was that age and still does over 20 years later!

Where is Frozen I hear you all exclaim! Well I thought that one went without saying so didn’t include it 🙂

Right, off to book tickets to see Big Hero 6, can’t wait! Has been dubbed ‘Frozen for boys’ – we shall see and I’ll let you know.

Toodlepip x

