12th May is a big day for me – I’m doing a very very high abseil down Spinnaker tower in Portsmouth. I’m not afraid of heights but considering the only abseil I’ve ever done was down a 10ft wall when I was 12 and going over the top of that was scary, the prospect of abseiling spinnaker tower is a little, erm….. nerve racking and frightening. What made me do it?

Spinnaker Tower

Well, it’s for a the Queen Alexander Hospital Home and our disabled ex-service men and women – that is a pretty good reason to put my nerves to the test as well as my fears as let’s face it, what our service men and women do and have done day in and day out is pretty much at the top of conquering everything their bodies are probably telling them they shouldn’t and that’s even before they set foot in a war zone and go on tour.

This is something that is close to my heart.  My husband is ex-army and hearing how hard he found it not being able to go about his army duties as he had been training so hard to do and the difficulties of getting back to ‘civi street’, I can only imagine how tough it is to get back to a life that has been far removed from what you have been used to, and then add into that the challenges that a disability brings.

All our ex-service men and women need and deserve our support especially those that have to deal with a life changing disability that has taken everything they have known away from them both inside the services and outside.

So all that I ask you to do today when you read this is to pledge just a couple of pounds and sponsor me.  Don’t have a coffee from your favourite coffee shop just for today and pledge that money instead.  Don’t spend that money on that takeaway or magazine just once this month and pledge the money instead.  That pair of shoes or that gadget that you don’t really need – sponsor me instead and the money will go to people who really need and deserve it, not just one day this week or month or for a few times that you will wear those shoes or use that gadget but to help them for the rest of their lives.  If you can’t sponsor me then spend a little time and ask everyone you know to sponsor me instead.

SPONSORSHIP PAGE

I know that I may not know you but if there is one great thing you do today that can make a difference, make it this.

Thank you x

SPONSORSHIP PAGE

